SRA Selector Students Selected

November, 2015 / November, 2015

This week, at the annual Student Radio Awards in London, team Selector announced who the six university students will be for this years SRA (Student Radio Association) Selector.

They are (in no particular order)...

Jessica Campbell - Xpress Radio, Cardiff University

Christie Driver-Snell - Leeds Student Radio, University Of Leeds

Anna Louise Walter - CSRfm - Canterbury Christ Church University

Jamie Lee - University Radio Bath, University Of Bath

Andy Backhouse - Smike Radio , the University Of Westminster

Chris Lloyd - Rare FM, University College London (UCL) 

The six students will attend two days of training at Folded Wing later this month, before broadcasting their own versions of Selector on their respective stations. They will then submit their best show and a winner will be chosen and sent to Mexico City to work at Ibero 90.9FM.

This is the third year that the British Council has run this scheme and the previous two winners, Jack Saunders and Ross Buchanan, have both gone on to secure their own shows on national radio station, Radio X.

Phil Catchpole, Selector Programme Manager said - "It was great to see how excited everybody was about the SRA Selector announcement. Because of the previous success of the scheme, it is viewed as a fanatastic way to break into the radio industry, and quite rightly too. From the superb training by Folded Wing to getting access to our radio content every week, the SRA Selector is a unique opportunity for students looking to develop their broadcasting skills. I can't wait to meet them all and get started."